Collegiate Corner

Colleges and universities have announced the scholarships, academic honors and activities of area students.


Multiple Mid-South students have been awarded the Presidential Scholarship for this fall at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tenn. The Presidential Scholarships are for freshman students who have a 3.0+ GPA and 29 ACT or 1290 SAT. Students picked for this scholarship showed commitment to academic excellence. They include Kirsten Mayes, Lauren Reaves and Elena Schauwecker, all of Bartlett; James Crunk of Lakeland; and William Hefner and Shannon Enlow, both of Memphis.

The following high-achieving freshmen have been offered the Dean’s Scholarship for the fall 2019 semester at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville: Channing Farr, Allison Fitzgerald and Aaron Washington, all of Arlington; Carmen Hennings of Bartlett; Kasey Washington of Lakeland; and Lukas Weir of Memphis. The Dean’s Scholarships are for freshman students who have a 3.5+ GPA and 26 ACT or 1170 SAT.

Academic honors

Eve Abraha of Memphis, was named to the fall 2018 dean’s list at Tufts University in Medford/Somerville, Mass. Dean’s list honors at Tufts University require a semester grade point average of 3.4 or greater.

The following University of Memphis students were recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society: Kendall Booker and Bethany Coules, both of Arlington; Channing Bernard, Lauren Hutchinson and Bryan Underwood, all of Bartlett; and Amy Burden, Alleanna Raye Marquez and Kristin Turner, all of Memphis. They are among the approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

The following local students from Memphis were named to the dean’s list at the University of the South in Sewanee, Tenn., for the Advent 2018 term: Hattie Elizabeth Fogarty, daughter of Cyndie and Larry M. Fogarty; Mary Jane McCaghren, daughter of Lori and Matthew B. McCaghren; Abigail Katherine Warr, daughter of Megan and A. Graham Warr; Megan Brooke MacAulay, daughter of Cynthia J. MacAulay; William Henry Merriman, son of Jennifer A. and W. Keith Merriman, and Tanya Galan, daughter of Rita and Enrique Galan. To earn a place on Sewanee’s dean’s list, a student must earn a minimum grade point average of 3.625 on a 4.0 scale.

Nathan Elliott of Memphis was named to the fall 2018 dean’s list at Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y. A student much achieve a GPA of at least 3.5 to earn a spot on the dean’s list.

Julia Estes of Arlington was named to the fall 2018 dean’s list at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Ky. She is a freshman majoring in political science. To be included on the dean’s list, students must have completed 12 or more credits during a semester for letter grades with at least a 3.60 GPA.

Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Ark., has named the following local students to its fall 2018 president’s list: Britney Bost of Bartlett; Bethany Lagen and Laura Spradlin, both of Cordova, and Emily Mahan of Piperton. To be named to the president’s list, a student must compile a 4.0 grade point average and be classified as a full-time student with a minimum of 12 academic hours.

Academic activities

Molly Lukas of Lakeland was among nearly 500 students at the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa, Ala., who highlighted their research and creative projects during the Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Conference on March 27. Her presentation was “Examining the Effects of Virtual Reality on Minimizing Pain in Children Receiving an Injection” in the Health Sciences category. The conference spurs interest in research among undergraduate students and helps students polish their communication skills, said Dr. Kim Bissell, director of the Office for Undergraduate Research.