Saint Francis-Bartlett honors doctors March 30

Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett honored its physicians on March 30, which is recognized as National Doctors’ Day. In addition to a luncheon featuring a Superheroes theme, the event also marked an opportunity to present the Physician of the Year award and Physician Leadership award.

Katherine Allan, M.D., was named the Physician of the Year. Allan, an internal medicine physician, joined the staff of Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett in 2012. She has played an integral role in advancing technology at the hospital by serving as the medical director of informatics.

“It is a surprise and an honor to be named the Physician of the Year,” she said. “It’s a pleasure to be a part of the medical staff at Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett. The hospital staff and physicians work very well together. It’s very much a family atmosphere.”

Ricky Smith, M.D., was selected by his peers to receive the Physician Leadership award. He has been a urologist on the Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett medical staff since 2009, and he is the current president of the hospital’s medical staff.

“Dr. Allan and Dr. Smith are very deserving of the recognition,” said Chris Locke, Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett CEO. “Saint Francis Hospital-Bartlett is fortunate to have an entire medical staff that is so dedicated to the well-being of our patients. We are happy to be able to honor our physicians on Doctors’ Day for all that they do 365 days a year.”

National Doctors’ Day was first celebrated on March 30, 1933, when Eudora Brown Almond, wife of Dr. Charles B. Almond, set a day aside to honor physicians. The House and Senate officially declared March 30 “National Doctors’ Day” in 1990.