Collegiate Corner for Nov. 17, 2016

Colleges and universities have released the following information about area students.


grad-on-bookstackTennessee Wesleyan University has accepted Ellen Weaver of Bartlett for the upcoming academic year. She is a current student at Westminster Academy.


Taylor Selby of Lakeland is the recipient of the National Law Enforcement and Firefighters Children’s Foundation (NLEAFCF) 2016 scholarship. She is a sophomore at Mississippi State University and has been recognized for her exceptional leadership skills, academic achievement, extracurricular activities and her devotion to community service.

Honors and Achievements

Riley Phillips of Arlington has been inducted into the Harding University chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, a foreign language honor society. Phillips, a biomedical engineering major and Spanish minor, was one of 17 students awarded membership during a ceremony Oct. 30. Harding University is in Searcy, Ark.

To qualify for membership in Phi Sigma Iota, students must be majoring or minoring in foreign languages, comparative literature, foreign language education or linguistics. Membership is for junior and senior students with a GPA above 3.0 and a class ranking in the top 35 percent.

Austin Peay State University has named the following students to its spring 2016 dean’s list: Ashlee Dover and Samantha Schramm of Bartlett; Kelsey Hawkins, Unjala Lester, Rachael Maynard, Brittany Meyer, Noelle Oleartchick and Ashleigh Pagenkopf of Arlington; and Brittany White of Lakeland.

Cody Arthur, a native of Bartlett and Bartlett High School alumnus (class of 2013), recently won First Place in the Student Artist Category of Mississippi Opera’s Voices of Mississippi Competition.

He is a senior vocal performance major at The University of Mississippi. He has collaborated with Opera Memphis, the Druid City Opera Workshop, and the month-long Miami Summer Music Festival At Miami he performed the role of the Rev. Samuel Parris in “The Crucible.” At the University of Mississippi he has performed various roles, most notably a supporting role in the world premiere of “Hamlet, Prince of Denmark” in Oxford and traveled with the cast and crew to the European premiere in Prague, Czech Republic.

This fall begins his fourth semester working with Living Music Resource and his second semester as an LMR undergraduate assistant assistant. As an LMR assistant, he has served as a Game Maker for the live stream series (LMR LIVE) and coordinated events like the “hUMmanities affair.”

As first-place winner in the competition he received a generous cash award and performed in concert on Oct. 10 at Dublin Hall in Jackson, Miss., with winners from other categories in the competition.

Jessica Brewer of Arlington, a global studies major, is one of 17 students named to this year’s Fellows class for the John Howard Scholars Program at Samford University in Birmingham, Ala.
The program is named for 18th-century prison reformer John Howard, whose life became a model of Christian compassion for society’s outcasts. Fifty years after his death, a group of Alabama Baptists decided to name their new college in honor of this great humanitarian.


The University of Memphis has released the list of graduates from its Aug. 6 commencement ceremonies. They include:

  • Bartlett residents: Cori Shadie Abdolhosseinzadeh, Mary A Barczak, Stephanie Leigh Barthol, Chaniece Brown, Brandon Timothy Carroll, Christopher Patrick Cicero, Jordan R. Garrison, Lauren Olivia Day, Kevin Almack Gideon, Sean Greene, Terin Elisha Harris, Joseph Harrison, Chasity Vashon Henderson, Kelly Rae Hill, Andrew Hurst, Jonathan Andrew Joyner, Jenna Leigh McCaskey, Johnathon McDonald, Caitlin Mulrooney, Ashley Dianne Posey, Alexis Rabung, Michael Robbins, Rachel Tillery, Kayla Rachel Toohy, Anja Deniece Whitehead, Dawn Marie Woodard and Marc Allen Leoncio Yanza.
  • Arlington residents: Cindy Lynn Albonetti, Brenda Leigh Barros Antonaccio, Joel Martin Berretta, Gina Annette Bryant and Catherine Virginia Busse, Lela Partray Coleman, Shahzaade Charisse Dobbins, Luke Daniel Enzor, Jayson David Evaniuck, Raven Icaza, Zachary James Johnson, Jordan Fry JuVette, Chrystal Rachelle Lynn, Jacqueline Mata, Adam S. Michael, John S. Michalchuk, Alex Carson Norville, Laura Christine Robinson, Anthony Rogers, John Mark Sharpe, Lauren Annette Shelton, Tierney Nicole Smith, Brett Scott Walker and Jennifer Joan Winfield.
  • Lakeland residents: Kristen Amanda Chambers, Hannah Kate Cunningham, Hunter Patrick Donohue, Nicolas Wade Hummel, Brock Palmer Patterson and Whitney Leigh Walker.