Collegiate Corner for July 7, 2016


Universities and colleges have released the following information about area students.


  • graduate - hat and booksDalton Frederick of Bartlett High School has been selected to receive the University Scholarship from Southern Arkansas University in Magnolia, Ark. This scholarship includes $4,500 per semester and has a four-year value of $36,000. Frederick is the son of Richard Frederick Jr.
  • Heather Leslie of Bartlett has received the Regents’ Scholarship and Visual and Performing Arts Scholarship to attend Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau, Mo., for the 2016-2017 academic year. Leslie is the daughter of David and Suzanne Leslie and is a 2015 graduate of Bartlett High School.


  • Hannah Wagner of Lakeland has been named as an outstanding student in management at the Harding University Paul R. Carter College of Business Administration. The college is part of Harding University in Searcy, Ark. Wagner was nominated by professors.
  • Several Shelby County residents received college-level and department-level awards from the University of Tennessee at Martin during the spring 2016 semester. They included Elizabeth Packard of Lakeland, who was named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges; Sarah Rohde of Bartlett, who received a Dean’s Scholar Award in sport management from the College of Business and Global Affairs; and Rebecca Starnes of Arlington, who received the Outstanding Freshman in Family and Consumer Sciences Award.
  • Hailey Ann Guzzo of Bartlett has been named to the dean’s list at South Dakota State University for the spring semester. She is studying in the College of Education & Human Science. To earn dean’s list distinctions in SDSU’s colleges, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.
  • Ying X. Ouyang of Lakeland was named to the Rhodes College Honor Roll for the 2016 spring semester. Ouyang is a graduate of Arlington High School. To qualify for the honor roll, a student must be enrolled in at least 16 credit hours of academic work and must achieve a semester grade point average of 3.85 or better.
  • Jessica M. MacDonald of Arlington has been named to the spring dean’s list at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, Ga. To be eligible, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.
  • Zachary W. Riedel of Bartlett has been named to the spring president’s list at Clemson University in Clemson, S.C. Riedel is majoring in general engineering. To be named to the president’s list, a student must achieve a 4.0 (all As) grade-point average.
  • Two Lakeland students have been named to the spring dean’s list at Clemson University. They are Megan L. Wander, who is majoring in general engineering, and Lauren Michelle Wieties, who is majoring in mechanical engineering. To be named to the dean’s list, a student achieved a grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.99 on a 4.0 scale.
  • Spencer Nelson of Lakeland has been named to the spring dean’s list at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Ga. This designation is awarded to undergraduate students who have a 3.0 or higher academic average for the semester.


  • Jimmy Marlin of Arlington was among the more than 600 students earning degrees this spring at The University of Scranton, Penn. He earned a Master of Business Administration degree with a major in operations management.
  • Henry Mare of Cordova graduated from Northampton Community College in Bethlehem, Penn., with a specialized diploma this spring. Mare was also named to the dean’s list for the spring semester. The honor is reserved for students who have completed a minimum of 6 credits and achieved at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale in the spring 2016 semester.
  • Louis De Gruy of Arlington was among more than 1,500 students to earn a degree from the University of Dayton in Dayton, Ohio, at the spring commencement ceremony. De Gruy earned a bachelor of science degree.