Collegiate Corner for March 12, 2015

graduate - hat and booksThe following colleges and universities have recently announced scholarships and honors.


  • Ashleigh Pagenkopf of Arlington has been awarded the Presidental Scholarship at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville. Academic scholarships to APSU are awarded for scholarly achievement, high class rank and qualifying scores on national assessment testing.
  • Three seniors from St. Benedict at Auburndale High School have been awarded the Provost Scholarship at Mississippi State University in Starkville, Miss. They are Meghan Brino of Munford, Ryan Cobb of Germantown and Easton Williams of Collierville. Only 25 Provost scholarships were awarded, and three were from SBA. The university said it is rare for three from one school to be granted the scholarship.


  • Yao Tan of Bartlett has been named to the dean’s list at Emory University in Atlanta. Tan is enrolled in the university’s undergraduate liberal arts college, Emory College of Arts and Sciences. Students eligible for the dean’s list must be in the top 20 percent of Emory College or have approximately a 3.850 grade point average or higher.
  • Matt McCurdy of Bartlett, has been named to the dean’s list for the fall term at Center College in Danville, Ky. Eligible students must maintain at least a 3.60 grade point average. He is the son of Mark and Carol McCurdy of Bartlett and is a graduate of St Benedict at Auburndale.